Bill's Sticky Fingers Celebrates 20 Years!

contestantsOur Wing/Pizza eating competitors get set to chow down!

It's Bill's Sticky Finger's 20th Anniversary and for the rest of the month, it's 20% off all dine in menu items (excluding alcohol).  Today was the first ever Bill's Wings/Pizza eating contest for charity to help with the celebrations. Each contestant was eating for a charity and had to eat 1 pound of wings and a large slice of pizza, and the wings were hot....VERY HOT.

It was a close battle and Mark Essay and Jim Brands were in the mix, but ultimately Fire Chief Phil Carpenter was the fastest and collected a $100 donation for the fire fighters burn fund courtesy of Bill's Sticky Fingers.

Listen for more celebrations later this month and make sure to stop by again or for the first time to enjoy the great food that has made Bill's Sticky Fingers famous across the province and the prairies!

winnerFire Chief Phil Carpenter rewarded with $100 for the Firefighters Burn Fund from Bill himself!

New Week For T.N.T April

April has arrived, and with it, another chance for farmers to win a prize worth $9000! A 4500L Westeel fuel tank and pump from Mar-Dee Enterprises along with an 18 foot trailer from Hi-Tec Trailers! (see complete trailer specs below)

tnt2014 copy

(this years grand prize worth close to $9000, and you could win it)

The only time you can enter to win this package is when we are live on location throughout the month. Each stop will be from 10:30am to 1:30pm and you can look for other special events happening as well while we are there.

 Here is the list of upcoming stops: 

Tuesday April 22: R-Way Ag St. Claude

Wednesday April 23: Kal Tire Portage La Prairie

Thursday April 24: Drummond's Farm Services of Holland

Friday April 25: Craig Dunn GM

Tuesday April 29th: Fountain Tire Portage

Wednesday April 30th: Ag West Equipment - Portage Location

Thursday May 1st: Chudd's Chrylser in Gimli

Friday May 2nd: GRAND PRIZE DRAW


Completed stops:

Tuesday April 8: Avenue Honda-Polaris - Names drawn were Ethel Larkins of Rural Portage, Ben Waldner of Good Hope Colony, Gary Chikousky of Narcisse, Don Poschenrieder of Westbourne and Clara Waldner of Elm River Farms Newton.

Wednesday April 9: Macgregor Home Centre - The five finalists from this stop were Phil Reimer of Macgregor, Dean Toews, Ron Perchak of Edwin, Jonathon Peters and Jamie Penner of Macgregor

Thursday April 10: Nu Era Seeds Gladstone - The five finalists drawn were Gerald Cavat of Gladstone, Jeremy Kreutzer, Ken Coutts and David Single all of Plumas as well as Greg Funk of Arden. As a side note, Wayne Schettler of Plumas was the winner of the door prize draw worth $5000 which was a complete package of seed/treatments etc for 40 acres!

Friday April 11: Chabot Implements - Elie Location  - The 5 finalists were Jeremie Dureault of Fannystelle, Darcy Miller of Fortier, Page Farms from Starbuck, Rod Qually, and Rick Saurette of Aubigny.

Tuesday April 15: Western Bearing and Auto Parts - 5 More names have been added to the final list and they are: Elie Mandell, Kevin Wiebe of Image Creek Farms, Jim Latimer of Treherne, Rodgers Farm, and Jake Gross.

Wednesday April 16: Mazer Group - Portage Location - The 5 names chosen from MazerGroup Portage were Randy Verway of Portage, Vic Bueckert of Rossendale, Mike Penner of Austin, Elaine Keen-Porteous of Marquette, and Chris McCallister of Red Beard Farms.

Five names will be picked and announced after every stop and it is only those names that will go into the grand prize enter at every stop if you can. Listen at 8:10am the morning after each stop to hear who was picked and if you miss that, check back right here. Good luck everyone and we hope to see you on this years T.N.T Tour.

Trailer specs from Hi-Tec Trailers:

8.5' x 18' M Series Flat Deck 7000lbs GVW with a retail price of $4470.00.

the complete specs can be found by clicking this link:


Click It And Win!

clickitandwin1 apr172014 2Winner Carrie Rose with Portage Chrysler Sales Rep Devon Ford

Well today was the final day for Click It And Win with Portage Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and what a fun way to round things out!  Carrie Rose was our final winner to not only test drive the vehicle of her choice (2014 Dodge Journey) but also picked-up a free oil change from Portage Chrysler and is now in to win the Dodge Calibre!


Now even though Click It And Win is done you can still test drive the vehicle of your choice by visiting Portage Chrysler!  Thanks to all who entered, and congrats to those who won!  Stay listening to Real Country Radio, CFRY to see what we're planning next!

clickitandwin1 apr162014Winner Tammy Hammersley with Portage Chrysler Sales Rep Grace MacNeill

clickitandwin1 apr152014Winner Kelly Anderson with Portage Chrysler Assistant General Manager Darrell Lee

clickitandwin1 apr142014Winner Janice Carefoot with Portage Chrysler General Manager Kelly Tomalin

clickitandwin1 apr112014Winner Kim Sokolosky with Portage Chrysler Sales Rep Brogan McDougall

clickitandwin1 apr102014Winner Claudia Sanderson with Portage Chrysler Sales Rep Grace MacNeill

clickitandwin1 apr092014Winner Brittany Webb with Portage Chrysler Sales Rep Devon Ford

clickitandwin1 apr082014Winner Jennifer Walker with Portage Chrysler Sales Rep Karl Seidlitz

clickitandwin1 apr072014


The Winner Has Been Crowned!

 montanas cfry

Montana's Cookhouse is the big winner of the "Sweet 16" Restaurant Play-Down all in the spirit of March Madness!  The last match-up had the coffee chain Starbucks take on the cookhouse Montana's.  Through people voting all weekend long Montana's finally came out victorious after gaining 56% of the vote!  Find a full recap HERE!


We started with 16 establishments we didn't have here in Portage la Prairie and through your votes everyday we were able to narrow it down to just 1.  There were certainly a lot of surprises along the way, with a good amount of upsets we here at CFRY would have never guessed.


Thanks to all who voted!  Now who knows?  Maybe we could see a Montana's come to our community.


Juno Awards 2014

brettkisselBreakthrough Artist of the Year, Brett Kissel posing for a pic at the 2014 Juno Awards

It was cheers for BTO and boo's for Beiber but all-in-all it was a successful Juno Awards in Winnipeg over the weekend!  It's not everyday you get to see some of Canada's biggest A-Listers converge on Manitoba to celebrate the arts.  Below you'll find a list of some of last night's winners.



Crop Circles, Dean Brody - WINNER
Started With a Song, Brett Kissel
Country Junkie, Gord Bamford
Small Town Pistols, Small Town Pistols
Throw Down, Tim Hicks



Brett Kissel - WINNER
Florence K
Tim Hicks
Tyler Shaw
Wake Owl



Justin Beiber – WINNER

Arcade Fire
Avril Lavigne
Céline Dion
Drake Cash
Michael Bublé
Robin Thicke
Serena Ryder
Walk Off the Earth



Closer, Tegan and Sara - WINNER
Reflektor, Arcade Fire
Inner Ninja, Classified
It’s a Beautiful Day, Michael Bublé
What I Wouldn’t Do, Serena Ryder



Unorthodox Jukebox, Bruno Mars - WINNER
The Marshall Mathers LP 2, Eminem
Night Visions, Imagine Dragons
Take Me Home, One Direction
The Truth About Love, P!nk



Reflektor, Arcade Fire – WINNER
Loved Me Back to Life, Céline Dion
Nothing Was the Same, Drake
To Be Loved, Michael Bublé
Harmony, Serena Ryder



Serena Ryder - WINNER
Céline Dion
Michael Bublé
Robin Thicke



Tegan and Sara - WINNER
Arcade Fire
Blue Rodeo
Walk Off the Earth



Serena Ryder - WINNER
Arcade Fire
Henry “Cirkut” Walter
Ron Sexsmith
Tegan and Sara Quin