Despite heavy rain early yesterday morning, the Central Manitoba Plowing Championships went ahead just north of Portage.

The two-furrow open class championship went to Ken Innes of St. Andrews. He also got the nod in the Masters Class, and won the Toby Trimble Trophy for best in field in all events.
Boissevain's Nick Boundy and Tom Ryall of Rivers tied for second, with Portage's Allison Briggs finishing third.

Portage's Keith Munro won the three-furrow open class heritage event. Paul Trimble was second, while Darrell Beddome took third.

Portage MLA David Faurschou won the VIP and sponsors class. Allen Cuthbert was second.

The junior class was won by Torry Solomon of Portage, followed by Keyy Verwey and Cody Briggs.

Fourteen competitors took part in the event.