Western Canada Cup Logo Sponsor Final m9n

Dauphin has been picked to host the 2014 Western Canada Cup. The event is the new junior "A" hockey  tournament which will decide the Western regional representatives for the RBC Cup National Junior "A" Championship.

Dauphin will host the 5 team tournament on April 26th to May 4th, 2014. The 13-game tournament will include a host team, the Dauphin Kings, along with the champions from the four Western  leagues in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. Both the champion and the runner-up in the Western Canada Cup will advance to the RBC Cup national championship.

The Western Canada Cup will replace the former ANAVET Cup (Manitoba-Saskatchewan) and the Doyle Cup (B.C. Alberta) where the winners of those two tournaments had earned RBC Cup berths.

The new playoff format will begin in the 2012-2013 season with the inaugural event to be played April 27th to May 5th at Nanaimo, B.C. The event will rotate after that to Manitoba in 2014, Alberta in 2015 and Saskatchewan in 2016.

DiscoverWestman.com is Westman's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.